Senses

View 1.JPG

We ran up to the ocean as soon as we were off the boat.

I stand along the edge of Patras, Greece and watch the blueness of the waves push themselves onto the shore. They are rhythmically breathing: in and out, in and out. The crisp smell of the salt is as light and gentle as the blue water, and it playfully dances in the breeze that surrounds me. Mountains make themselves known in the distance. And then, as the water-polished rocks crunch under the weight of my steps, the sound of the breathing ocean begins to fade and I am soon surrounded with the sharp smell of greenness and the sound of a great buzzing of bees and positive singing of birds. The tall grass shimmers in the breeze! Bugs dart all around, full of energy and purpose! Sunlight pierces through my shirt and soaks into my skin! I look behind me: the mountains have descended into the atmosphere and the ocean now a single shade of royalty. I continue to make my way up, and soon it is all faded into the distance.

Leave a Reply

